Last Night’s GOP Debate — Yelling, Name-Calling, and Cruz’s Lip

by Jason Kelly

I will admit right here and now that I actually look forward to the GOP Debates whenever they’re on. I’m curious as to how each candidate responds to challenging questions and I’m eager to learn more about their policies. And, I’ll be honest, I get a pretty good laugh out of all the mud-slinging and name-calling that inevitably takes place in every debate.

Last night, however, was actually irritating.

All four candidates, except for Kasich, were more concerned with yelling at each other and making fun of each other than actually giving real answers to the questions that were posed. Now, that’s not to say that Rubio, Cruz, and Trump didn’t answer any questions last night. They did… Sort of… At times… Maybe.

This seemed to be the pattern throughout the debate last night:

Moderator: “Mr Trump, you said ________ in an interview last year.”

Trump: “Well, actually, what I said was this _________ and I’m not even sure if that’s what I actually said. It was a long time ago.”

Rubio: “He’s lying”

Trump: “I’m not lying, little Marco.”

Rubio: “Yes you are, and stop calling me names.”

Cruz: “Donald, just take a deep breath.”

Kasich: *Quietly and politely just waits for his turn*

I know that I probably shouldn’t be surprised that this is how it panned out last night, but that thing was just ridiculous. Also, how many times did Donald say that he had changed his mind on something? It must have been at least 3 or 4 times. The only part of the debate that really stood out to me was when Kasich gave his, “Tour around the world” foreign policy speech. The reason it stood out was because, for the first time in any of these debates, a candidate was able to quickly and concisely give an answer to something without feeling the need to attack any of his opponents. Seriously, that was impressive.

Oh, and let’s not forget whatever the hell that white thing was on Ted Cruz’s lip

giphy

For real, though — what the hell is that? Cottage cheese? A giant piece of dandruff? Either way, it was so gross yet so fascinating at the same time.

Anyway, this is not me saying that I think Kasich is the strongest candidate in the Republican party. I’m just telling you that he had the best performance on the debate stage last night.

That is why the Republican party has been so helter-skelter in this election. Each debate yields different results for each of the candidates. No Republican candidate, thus far, has been able to show any kind of consistency up on the debate stage. That is why I keep tuning in to these debates every week, because I keep thinking that at some point one of these candidates has to take reigns and establish dominance in this race…. Right?

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

